South Carolina laws require all motorists to carry auto insurance. At a minimum, the insurance must cover bodily injury and property damage liability. But that doesn’t mean the insurance companies will always cover your car accident appropriately. You may need help getting the coverage you’re due.
As a driver in South Carolina, you must know and comply with the minimum auto insurance requirements. Failure to meet these requirements can result in various penalties. Here is a look at these requirements and the penalties for failing to meet them.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
The minimum auto insurance requirements for all South Carolina drivers include:
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per person
- $25,000 bodily injury liability per accident
- $25,000 property damage liability per person
The minimum coverage liability insurance covers you as well as any other parties involved in the accident. If you were at fault for the crash, your bodily injury and property damage liability will pay for the other injured parties. These include any other drivers, passengers, or pedestrians involved in the accident.
Your insurance also pays for damages sought in a personal injury lawsuit if you were at fault. Likewise, you can seek damages from an at-fault driver for your crash-related injuries and losses. You are entitled to these damages under South Carolina’s fault law.
South Carolina’s Fault Laws
South Carolina is a fault state when it comes to personal injury cases. This means you have the option of seeking damages from the at-fault party. When you file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurer, you shouldn’t expect a smooth and straightforward process.
Instead, the insurer may try to downplay your injuries, raise objections, or reject your claim. So you will need to provide relevant evidence and prove your claim.
Penalties for Driving Without Car Insurance
As noted above, all drivers are legally required to carry the minimum amount of auto insurance. If you fail to do so as a driver, the following penalties may apply for a first offense:
- $550 uninsured motorist fee, an additional $200 reinstatement fee, and a $5 per day fine until the day you provide proof of coverage
- A jail term of up to 30 days
- Suspension of vehicle registration and license
If you were involved in a crash while driving without insurance, the penalties may be harsher. Because of this, it’s important to keep your insurance up to date and speak with your lawyer if you’re involved in a car accident.
Get Legal Help Today
If you have been involved in a car accident, you may need help from your lawyer to recover the funds you need. Damage claims can be complex, but with a car accident lawyer on your side, you have a chance to recover. You may need legal assistance to determine how to recoup your crash-related losses.
Here at the Louthian Law Firm, Accident & Injury Lawyers, our car accident lawyers can advise on how best to proceed after such an accident. We can also help you explore all your legal options and make a decision that best protects your interests. You can reach us at 803-592-6231 or fill out the following online contact form to schedule a free consultation.